Currency of Greece

Greece is one of the twelve European Union member states participating in the single currency known as the euro, €, (evro in Greek). The multi-sized banknotes, depicting various styles of European architecture, come in values of € 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500. The euro coin series is comprised of eight different values: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cent, €1 and €2. The euro coins have a common side and a national side indicating the issuing country.

Major international banking institutions, credit card companies and ATMs in and around Athens are plentiful and easy to access. Banks are open to the public Monday through Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. and Friday 8:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., except holidays. Foreign currency may be exchanged for euros at most Greek and foreign banks and at exchange bureaus located in the city's center. Bring your passport when exchanging money. You will need it for the transaction. Traveller's checks and credit cards issued by major companies are also widely recognized and an accepted means of purchasing items in Athens.

For more information on the euro go to:

For information on current exchange rates go to:

A useful currency converter is available at:

(Source: European Central Bank)